Make It Count

Make it Count

“Have I not commanded you?  Be strong and courageous.  Do not be terrified; do not be discouraged, for the Lord your God will be with you wherever you go.”-Joshua 1:9

I don’t like New Year’s resolutions.  I am all in and committed to changing my old ways in January and by February I stopped following the resolution and can’t even remember what I decided to accomplish!  Failing my own willpower and others’ expectations leaves me unfulfilled and in a funk.  This time I am taking a different approach to the New Year.   Being a child of God, I start every day as a new day because in His eyes, I am forgiven.  I will approach each day with 3 simple New Year’s intentions:

Be StillPsalm 47:10 “Be still, and know that I am God.”  I will start every morning in His word and be silent as to hear the daily direction God wants me to approach.  I want to journal my directions so I can remember them throughout the day.  In addition, at the end of the year I want to reflect back on 2016 and see from start to finish how much growth was accomplished. My goal is to develop my personal relationship with Jesus and follow His direction in my life.

Extending GraceLuke 6:31 “Do to others as you would have them do to you.”  Interaction with others is a daily routine, starting with my family and continuing to people I meet at work, school, the grocery store, lacrosse practice, etc. One of my “opportunities” is extending grace when I am behind the wheel of the car.  It is astonishing how grumpy and impatient I become during my daily driving haunts!   I will make the effort to do something for others without expecting a thank you or acknowledgement because I want to reflect decency through my actions.

Give of YourselfRomans 12:12-13 “Be joyful in hope, patient in affliction, faithful in prayer.  Share with God’s people who are in need. Practice hospitality.”  I volunteer with my church, a local ministry that feeds the homeless, and a care ministry called Ragan’s Hope.  I enjoy doing for others and will commit to supporting these ministries and become a witness to others through my serving.  I also need to ensure balance when volunteering, as to not spread myself too thin where my works are not beneficial to others.

I am enthusiastic about my approach to 2016.  Now I am not only looking forward to the first day of the year, but to wake up to the next 365 days with the same thrill and anticipation. And if I fall short in one of my intentions, I will forgive myself and look forward to a fresh start the next day.  My challenge to you is find your intentions and practice them daily.  Make it count every day and all you strive for in the future.  I pray for you and yours a Blessed 2016!

Peanuts 2016

 

 

2 thoughts on “Make It Count

Leave a Reply

