HOPE IN GRIEF

 

Cross on the hill

As I move through the week before Easter, I find myself reflecting on the events detailed in the bible of Jesus’s last few days on earth.  I think about all the people in Jesus’s life- His family, disciples, and God.   I ponder the thought of how many of us have something in common with His circle: grief.  It is overwhelming to think no matter who you are, even God, we all experience grief at a loss.  Grief is defined as keen mental suffering or distress over affliction or loss suffering.   I believe God grieves like you and me because we are made in his image.  Genesis 1:27 states “So God created man in His own image, in the image of God he created him; male and female he created them”.

There are many instances in the bible where God grieved for His people. In Genesis 6:6 it is written: “The Lord was grieved that He had made man on the earth, and His heart was filled with pain”.  Also in 2 Samuel 24:16 when the angel was going to destroy Jerusalem, “When the angel stretched out his hand to destroy Jerusalem, the Lord was grieved because of the calamity and said to the angel who was afflicting the people, ‘Enough! Withdraw your hand’”.  This illustrates God experiencing emotions and feelings like us.  It is even more unbelievable God who is omniscient (all-knowing) knew what the results of the people’s actions would be and He still grieved!

In reading Matthew 27:45-52 I envision God mourning for Jesus as he was dying on the cross.  To me, the visual of the darkness which covers the land describes how we feel on the inside during grief.  Even though God knew the inevitable outcome of this sorrowful day, He knew Jesus would triumph death and rise to sit with him for eternity.  If there is faith in what Jesus did on the cross for all of us sinners, then there is hope.  We can be lifted out of grief into the warm and joyful promise of a new beginning by having faith and trust in God’s plan.

This is my hope.  Because I have accepted Jesus as my Lord and Savior and I repent my sinful ways, when it is my time, I too will be reunited with God, Jesus, and all my loved ones who have accepted Him.   I am saddened Jesus had to experience the pain and agony of death for our sins but am thankful for his actions so I can live with Him forever.

We currently occupy a temporary home and will someday have to move on.  Death is inevitable and it is the door we have to walk through for eternity.  Our actions now determine what is on the other side of the door.  Have you prayed for your personal salvation?    Anytime is a glorious time to give it all to God and accept His authority over your life.  But if you have not done so, why not this weekend?  Grieve no more and celebrate the true Risen Son, His Father, and the Holy Spirit.  It will change your life forever-AMEN!!!!

3 thoughts on “HOPE IN GRIEF

Leave a Reply

