MY THREE D’S

building-character-17155869

Romans 5:3-5 “Not only so, but we also rejoice in our sufferings, because we know that suffering produces perseverance; perseverance, character; and character, hope.  And hope does not disappoint us because God has poured out his love into our hearts by the Holy Spirit, whom He has given us”.

Have you ever heard the term elevator pitch?  It is an explanation of something you do in 30 seconds or less which gives your audience an overview and a “hook” to want to know more about you.  This past week I was challenged to write an elevator pitch for my blog explaining to someone what my site is about and why would they want to check it out?   HMMMMM, what am I writing about?

I have thought about it for the past week and what I feel led to share is my character growth through my journey.  My journey was pretty steady the first 34 years of my life.  When I lost my husband suddenly, my journey became a leap of faith off of a huge cliff into unknown waters.  My life preserver was God.  In reflecting over the last several years of my odyssey, three descriptions come to mind about my character.

Define-The loss of my husband was a defining moment for me.  I had a choice to turn towards God or turn away.  I chose to turn to Him, for comfort, guidance, and structure.  I put my complete faith and trust in Him to lead me out of the darkness of grief.  Before my husband had died, we had been visiting a megachurch which he truly loved.  When word spread he had died, the church members responded abundantly to the needs of my family for many months. There were so many resources available such as counseling, grief group, cards, prayers, and plenty of babysitters for my kids!  God urged me to accept gifts from others with grace.

Develop– God was definitely honing my skills the first couple years of my grief walk.  I learned how to ask for assistance from others and not feel guilty of failure because I needed the help.  As I experienced friends and strangers giving graciously, I realized I wanted to do the same for others.  Through my grief, I learned to accept grace and kindness from people and to pass it on to others in need.  I developed my desire to serve others in the name of Jesus.

Deepen– My relationship with God has been strengthened and fortified these past fifteen years.  I look at myself as a tree, young and fragile when my husband died.  God nurtured, fed, pruned, and loved me so I grew stronger and my roots traveled deeper and deeper into His foundation.   I continue my quest in learning more about My Father and serving Him to continue building on our relationship.  I want to learn my purpose and strive to accomplish tasks which God lays before me.

It warms my heart to look over the past fifteen years and see where God has brought me.  The leap off the cliff was a free fall of terror until I hit the waters of grief.  God plucked me from the angry waves and delivered me to solid ground where I learned to walk again.  I have forged onward in my grief walk with my faith in God, my hope for the future, and the love of others.  This is what my blog is about and sharing my experiences with those who cross my path.  Am I the finished product?  I don’t believe so.  I continue to seek His guidance in all my actions, persevere to build my character, and please Him in all my accomplishments.

7 thoughts on “MY THREE D’S

  1. Kelsey, I just love the way God works. First, reading your testimony was such a blessing. It is very evident that you have the heart of a survivor and that God is your source. Second, I have been wanting to write my own elevator pitch, but just haven’t taken the time to sit down and focus. Your words here have been an encouragement to me to get on the stick! Big blessings to you sweet sister! You are doing great things for God!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

