Rainbows Make Me Smile

rainbow

Ephesians 2:4 “But because of His great love for us, God, who is rich in mercy, made us alive with Christ even when we were dead in transgressions-it is by grace you have been saved”.

It was a typical summer day in Southern Louisiana; hot, sticky, sunny with a rain shower.  I am driving with the windshield wipers on high swishing away the pounding drops of water. Did I mention I have on my sunglasses in an attempt to keep the glare out of my eyes?    As I made my way down the road, the beating of the raindrops subsided and there in front of me was a glorious band of colors stretching from one side of the road to the other.  There were green, blue, yellow, and red streaks stretching across the sky like a colorful banner as a result of the combination of rain and sun.  I smiled and said, “Thank you, God.”

Every time I see a rainbow, it makes me stop and think about God’s promise to all living creatures.  In Genesis 9, God declares to Noah a covenant with life on earth, and never again will there be a flood to destroy all.   “I will remember my covenant between me and you and all living creatures of every kind.  Never again will the waters become a flood to destroy all life.  Whenever the rainbow appears in the clouds, I will see it and remember the everlasting covenant between God and all living creatures of every kind on the earth.”- Genesis 9:15-16.

What a glorious promise!  God is faithful in His grace and mercy and to have the added bonus of no more destructive floods to remove all mankind just sweetens the pot!  What if every time I witness a rainbow, I promise to spread the gospel, tend to the sick, assist the poor, or pray for others?  It would be my promise to not hide the Truth for fear of persecution, but to live and testify to God’s word.  I would not judge others, but love all walks of life, with no exceptions.  As a Christian, I may not agree with everyone’s opinion, but I can l love and show compassion to others and agree to disagree.

Anytime I see a rainbow; across the sky, on a flag, shirt, or a website, I will look at it as God’s promise to save this world from a destructive force which would wipe out all living creatures.  I see the rainbow as a symbol of hope and God’s compassion for mankind.  Psalm 145:9 states, “The Lord is good to all; He has compassion on all he has made”.    I daily receive His mercy and should pass it on to others.

My prayer is next time you witness a rainbow, it will remind you of God’s love and mercy. Maybe it will inspire you to extend compassion and mercy to others and be the rainbow in someone’s cloudy day.

Now that makes me smile!

9 thoughts on “Rainbows Make Me Smile

  1. You’re so right! We “daily receive His mercy and should pass it on to others.”
    I love rainbows, too! If I see one out my window, I will grab an umbrella and go out to see it better even if it is still raining. 🙂
    I’ve read that passage in Genesis many times, but just recently a few of the words jumped out at me: “Whenever the rainbow appears in the clouds, I will see it…” If you think about how many places on the earth where it may be raining with sunshine at the same time, and how big God is, and that He always is looking down on this earth, it is kind of mind-blowingly amazing that He takes the time to see every single rainbow simultaneously, every day, every week, every month, every year!
    It just goes to show how much He loves us and cares for us!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

