All Lives Matter

all lives matter

I am numb and devastated.  We have had 2 high school young men in our community commit suicide in 2 days.  Unbelievable.   One of them was about to graduate in a couple of weeks and enter into his adult life.  How can I wrap my brain around these horrific events?  I do not understand how anyone could make such a permanent decision over a temporary situation.    I am angry and I am going to unleash my anger where it is due.   I blame sin and Satan.  I pray about this seething pain I feel for two young men I don’t know personally and I realize I have to give this God.  Only he can make sense and “fix” this inconceivable situation.  As I pray to understand and accept this reality, a few thoughts rise and grab my attention.

YOU ARE LOVED– God loves each one of us.  He made us uniquely for his wonder and enjoyment.  If He spent so much time on creating us, then we must realize we have a purpose and should live our life to meet our potential.  He is our protector and healer.  We were created in His image to thrive and do great works for Him and His kingdom.  “ For we are God’s workmanship, created in Christ Jesus to do good works, which God prepared in advance for us to do.”-Ephesians 2:10

HE HAS YOUR BACK-no matter how bad it gets, turn it over to God.  He can handle it and then some.  We will face hardships and painful experiences, but we don’t have to deal with them by ourselves.  He knows what is best for us even if it gets uncomfortable.   “Be still, and know that I am God;   I will be exalted among the nations, I will be exalted in the earth.”-Psalm 46:10

YOU HAVE SUPPORT-there are people put in our lives for a reason.  To love, support, and build us up.  They may not be our blood kin, but could be a friend, pastor, or neighbor.  We all have cheerleaders and people who want us to succeed.  Reach out and let them know you are hurting.  It blesses others to bless and love on you.  “And let us consider how we may spur one another on toward love and good deeds.  Let us not give up meeting together, as some are in the habit of doing, but let us encourage one another-“. Hebrews 10:24-25

We live in a broken world.  There will continue to be violence, death, and destruction until Jesus comes back to declare His new world.  What can I do now?

  • I need to give my anger to God.
  • I will pray for those left behind.
  • In my immediate circle, I will commit to building up my family and friends and let them know they are loved.
  • I want my circle to know I love them for who they are and God does too.

I do not understand how anyone can take their own life and I am not condemning anyone who has contemplated it.  Please know it is not a simple fix and it affects more people than you realize.  All I ask, is you wait and seek help before making the final decision.  There is a national suicide prevention hotline number- 1-800-273-8255.  If you can’t talk to a family member, friend, or a pastor, please make the call.  There is someone out there who cares and wants to help you.  Your life matters. “‘For I know the plans I have for you’, declares the Lord, ‘plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future’“.-Jeremiah 29-11

7 thoughts on “All Lives Matter

  1. Kelsey, somehow satan wraps His lies around our minds that our lives are not worth living for, and then just like a life is lost through suicide. It’s a lie that we must never believe, God has a plan and purpose in place for us that is greater than we could ever imagine. I wish those teens realized that. Praying for those families and the heartache they are experiencing.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. ((Hug)) Prayers for your community. It seems as if suicide is rampant in the teen community these days. 😦 So very sad. We’ve had it hit in our circles a few times over the last few years as well. 😦 Hugs and prayers. ((grace upon grace))

    Liked by 1 person

  3. When I was in high school, this seemed to be a fad. I couldn’t comprehend it. Then, like a storm wraps itself around the neighborhood, I too was consumed by wanting to commit suicide. It’s a plague. I’m glad I was delivered from this. Sometimes, I was so close and sometimes I was way too scared to follow through. As a mother, I look back on those times and think that it wasn’t me being scared. It was the Holy Spirit gnawing at my insides. I felt like my mother didn’t even love me. How could anyone else? Even God himself. My dad died when I was two years old. I didn’t know what fatherly love was until a few years ago when I decided to walk with Jesus. I can say that I understand, but I don’t. I have children of my own now and am in constant prayer over their lives. I hurt for all the hurting kids. I pray they feel the Holy Spirit move inside of them. I pray that Satan lets go of our youth. God, light a fire in us. Thank you for providing the hotline. I wish more parents would share this line with their teens. Not because they fear for them, but maybe because they can share it with a friend. We can’t be afraid to talk to our kids about this. I could ramble on for days. Thank you for bringing this up and writing about it. Love you, my Texas sista. I’m praying for you too. Hallelujah, Lord reign over us. ❤ ❤

    Like

    • I know Texas sista! Even in my darkest moments after my husband died, I never thought of taking my own life. Thank you for sharing and like you, I hurt and pray for our youth. Satan is evil but smart and he knows how to get to us, by preying on the young and vulnerable. We need to unite as prayer warriors and ask for guidance and assistance from our heavenly Father. Have a BLESSED week and keep on writing sista!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

