The Ultimate Destination

Sunflowers

Philippians 3:20-21-“But our citizenship is in heaven.  And we eagerly await a Savior from there, the Lord Jesus Christ, who, by the power that enables him to bring everything under his control, will transform our lowly bodies so that they will be like his glorious body”.

Over the last couple of weeks, we have had several family members visit and stay with us.  We had members from Virginia, South Carolina, and Texas.  Everyone enjoyed checking out the trees, the swamp, the history, and the food in Louisiana.  We shared with them there is much more to this area than Bourbon Street!  We had a great time and eventually everyone traveled back to their homes.  I thought about my home and how I came to Louisiana after growing up and living in Texas.  I love both places and am so blessed for calling both states my home.  I think of all the wonderful scenery, food, weather, and landmarks each of these great states present and know there is something even greater to experience.  This is a temporary home for all of us and our permanent home is with God in Heaven.

John 14:3- “And if I go and prepare a place for you, I will come back and take you to be with me that you also may be where I am.  You know the way to the place where I am going”.

After my first husband died, I wanted to learn all I could about Heaven.  I read countless books and absorbed the different interpretations of Heaven and drew my own conclusions. I imagine Heaven is a physical place and there is the experience of being IN THE PRESENCE of God for eternity.  WOW!   The thought of living with Him in His Kingdom and feeling His love pouring into my new body with warmth, pumping my blood, and filling me with joy forever.    This will be the ultimate vacation!

Like a vacation, I have to prepare and plan for the ultimate destination of Heaven.  On my checklist I have the following:

Accept (The invitation) -It is a simple prayer, from your heart to God.  “Lord, I need you.  I accept You are my Lord and Savior and I will only honor and worship You.  I ask for the forgiveness of my sins.  I know Jesus died for my sins and His blood covers all my transgressions.  I also believe He has risen and sits with You in Heaven.  I ask for Your mercy and grace and wish to receive Your precious gift so I can live for You.  Amen”.

Action (Live by example)-It does not stop with the simple prayer.  Get involved in a church and surround yourself with Christians.  We are all sinners and we are here to lean on and lift up each other in dark times.  Spend daily time with God, in His word, and prayer.  Develop the relationship with Him.  It takes time but so worth the investment.  The more you schedule and practice the quiet time, the more it becomes natural and routine.

Articulate (Spread the word)-This is the tough part but what I have found is to share my story and give glory to God.  I am not a bible expert, but I love to share my stories and use bible references to support my experiences.  In turn, I am learning more about the bible and scripture has become exciting and intriguing to me.  I will stand up and profess my faith and ask God to use me as He deems necessary.   My role is not to judge others as I may not agree with everyone’s opinions.  I will love and respect others because we are all God’s children.

When it is my time to leave this earth, I welcome my place with God in Heaven.  I know it will be sad for those left behind, but it is all part of this thing called life.  I will continue to plan and prepare for my ultimate destination and hope to bring as many family members, friends, and acquaintances along with me.  I would love to hear from you so please leave me a comment!  If you have a prayer request, you can send it to fhldigs1313@gmail.com.  I would love to pray for you!

Revelations 21:3-4 “…They will be His people, and God himself will be with them and be their God.  He will wipe every tear from their eyes.  There will be no more death, or mourning or crying or pain, for the old order of things has passed away”.

4 thoughts on “The Ultimate Destination

  1. Hi Kelsey! It’s my first time in your space- we’re friends over at His Girls Gather! First of all, I’ve never thought of having a “check-list” in preperation for Heaven!? But I love it! I mean, I guess we all have an inner checklist, sort of, to make sure we’ll go, but this was so cool how you laid it out. I also think its neat how you wanted to know everything you could about heaven when your first husband died. I put myself in your shoes, and I would probably be the same way. God bless you, and so nice to meet you!!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

