RESPECT Authority-It’s a Choice

Authority

When I first moved to Louisiana, I worked as a substitute teacher in my son’s school.  It was a way to get to know the faculty, parents, and students in our new town.  Most of the children were a delight; well-mannered, a yearning to learn, and a love for life.  But there are always a few unique individuals.  There was one young man who did not like to take direction from anyone.  I would ask him to do something and his response was “You’re not the boss of me!  You’re not a real teacher!”  Hmmm.  After a few failed attempts of re-directing him, I directed him to the principal’s office.

Why is it some of us have little respect for authority?  Why is our country full of adults who lack to respect others and those in positions of authority in the community?  It starts in our homes teaching our children to respect adults and people in authority roles (teachers, police officers, firefighters, judges, etc.)  The bible is quite clear on God’s definition of submitting to authority.  “Submit yourselves for the Lord’s sake to every authority instituted among men; whether to the king, as the supreme authority, or to the governors, who are sent by him to punish those who do wrong and to commend those who do right “ 1Peter 13:13-14.  There is invariably someone at a higher level of authority.  Even as an American in the “free world”, there are rules and laws to be followed and if they are broken, you will deal with the fallout.  Authority is to be regarded and followed and if it not, then anarchy will prevail.

Reverence-It starts with submitting to God’s authority.

Educate-Teaching our youth to respect those who hold positions of authority.

Submit-Willing to acknowledge individuals in positions of authority.

Practice-Demonstrating acts of respect for people in positions of authority.

Entrust-Trusting for the overall authority group (The group is not represented by the actions of a few).

Consequences-Dealing with the results of not respecting authority.

Transform-Reaping the benefits of submitting and obeying to authority.

I know it is easy to lay it out on paper, but it takes a commitment from all to make the effort to teach our babies while they are young.  If we lead by example, perhaps the next generation could be influenced to have respect for others in authority roles.  As a Christian, I believe God is my authority role model.   Because He states I should submit myself to the authority instituted among men, I believe it to be true.  I will honor and RESPECT authority by my actions and words in my home, church, community, and in the Unites States of America.  Praise God we live in a country where freedom is prevalent.  In order for peace and harmony, there must be law and order.  Rules have to be followed and respect given to those who enforce the rules.  I choose to respect authority in my life.

6 thoughts on “RESPECT Authority-It’s a Choice

  1. Pingback: Oh My Heartsie Girls Wonderful Wednesday | Oh My Heartsie Girl

  2. Yes! I too was a substitute teacher for a few years and I totally agree; some have it and others seem like they never will. Not only that many are taught not to; many of the kids I had the worst time with had parents that immediately went on the defensive the moment it was brought up. “We teach him that he’s in charge of his life”… um he’s 8 and he’s in school… he’s not in charge here.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: Wonderful Wednesday's Link Party #17 - Studio Paint Design

Leave a Reply

