I Choose…

death

Romans 6:23 “For the wages of sin is death, but the gift of God is eternal life in Christ Jesus our Lord.”

Recently we had a family discussion about death.  After a few minutes, a family member said: “this is awkward and morbid, can we talk about something else?”   We did, but I started thinking, why is death such a taboo, creepy subject?

Death is inevitable.  It is an action we can’t avoid and we will have loved ones who will die before us.  Being left behind is an emotional journey which leaves a permanent scar on our souls. The grief experience also equips us with empathy to aid others who follow in the journey.   I fear of losing a loved one more than fearing my own death.  Why?

I believe dying is a chapter in my life book.  But it is not the last chapter.  I am a Christ follower and believe Jesus is my Lord and Savior and because of this belief, I will live with Him forever after my earthly death.  It is all in God’s timing.  I know I will die one day and I can’t sit around and wait for death to take place.  I choose to use my time here to read His word, be involved in a church, help others, and share my love for Jesus.  I pray God uses me as an example for others to live life and realize there is so much more than the mundane, daily existence here on earth.   Don’t you long for a life with no more suffering, pain, disease, or sin?

Psalm 9:10 “Those who know you, Lord, will trust you; you do not abandon anyone who comes to you.”

I had the privilege to be with three of my family members as they took their last breath.  In those final moments, it was not about me, but about each one of them in their earthly conclusion.  They were rid of their diseased pain and agony which destroyed their bodies and entered the kingdom of heaven as Christ followers.  Only God knows their true heart, but all three of them had talked and demonstrated Christ was their Lord and Savior and believed He died for their sins.  As painful as it was to let them go, I have peace knowing where they are and I will be united with them one day.

During a debate about faith and religion back in college, a friend of mine quipped “What if there is not a God?  Think about the wasted time you have spent at church and reading the bible, and you find out there is nothing after death.”  I have thought about her statement many times over the years.   All of the years of church, bible study, serving others, and praying is not wasted in my mind.  I like to think these actions have kept me moral, selfless, and focused.  What else would I have been doing if I hadn’t occupied my time with the previous activities?  It is all about my faith and my personal relationship with God.  Death is not forever.  There is a choice.  Why not choose life everlasting with God?

6 thoughts on “I Choose…

  1. You always seem to know the right words to not only explain what you are feeling but cause others to think about things a little ore deeply than they normally would. I am so proud of you. Your writing skills are becoming so profound. Love you.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Amen to this!
    I also love this saying:
    “What if God isn’t real?”
    “Well, I’d rather spend my life praising God and find that he’s not real than to spend the rest of my life living like he’s not real and finding out he is.” That would be a mighty scary thing to get to the pearly gates and explain that we lived our lives like he was not real.

    God bless you, sista! Love your posts. So encouraging, uplifting and inspiring! Keep on!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Someone once expressed a similar sentiment about God to me–What if He doesn’t exist? Interestingly, though, she said if she dies and finds out she’s wrong, she wants someone to “wake her up ” so she can change her mind. Unfortunately, it does not work that way. I’d rather spend my life praising God, too.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

