A Love Letter

baby-feet

I am writing today out of sequence because the word “you” was pulling at my heartstrings. You will also note I wrote a little longer than five minutes to finish my thoughts.  “You” is the prompt for tomorrow, but guess what?  You get to read it today-enjoy and blessings!

//You were wanted and loved.  To this day I can feel the phantom fluttering inside knowing you were growing in me.  When you were born you were perfect and exactly as I imagined.  I was in awe of how little you were and remember touching your soft newborn skin and taking in the sweet aroma which only a baby can truly emit.  Because of you, my title and purpose changed in my life.  It was not about me anymore, but about you.  You also changed me physically, which I am proud of the scars, curves, and extra padding which I now bear.  I would move heaven and earth to protect you from evil, threats, and harm.  I would die for you. //

I would also correct you when you were wrong, and praise you when you were right.  I have been your biggest cheerleader and have believed you could do whatever you wanted to pursue.  It broke my heart when I had to let you fall and receive the bumps and bruises life would give you.  But I knew you would bounce back, fiercer, stronger, and wiser.  I am so honored for you to call me your mom and blessed for God allowing me to be a part of your life.  I know one of you knows what I have described and the other two will understand it when they become parents one day.  Continue to put God first in all you do and the rest will fall into place.

Love you with all my heart,

Mom

“Start children off on the way they should go, and even when they are old they will not turn from it.”-Proverbs 22:6

3 thoughts on “A Love Letter

  1. I loved this post. Amazing how God works. All week I have had this overwhelming feeling of gratitude for God blessing me and allowing me to be a mom. Our journey has not been a typical one and has extended way beyond the years I expected it would and yet I am so grateful for each one of my three children and the privilege to be their mom. Even in the midst of the struggle GOD IS GOOD. Your post put words to what I was feeling all week. I love it when God work like that.

    Like

Leave a Reply

