Uncharted Territory

unknown-5mfw-e1475106282582

//My life changed forever on February 3, 2001.  In the morning I was a wife and mother, and by the evening I was a widow responsible for three small children.  As I was going to the hospital, all I could whisper is, “I don’t know what to do.  Lord, help me. ” In a split second, my normal was no more.  Moving forward in my journey, I was definitely trekking into the unknown.  All household decisions were mine now.  I had no one to bounce off ideas, problem solve, or discuss options.  As I looked at my three beautiful children, how do I become a mother and a father to support and raise them?  Financially, what would become of us and our accustomed lifestyle?  Again, I did not have a plan or the answers, but God did.  I gave everything over to Him and he led the way.  Sometimes it did not make sense, but I followed.  Here I am, almost sixteen years later and I have conquered the unknown of being a widow.  There is still uncharted territory in my life, but it is okay.  God knows exactly what lies before me and I will follow His direction.//

“Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding.  In all your ways, acknowledge Him, and He will make your path’s straight.”-Proverbs 3:5-6 NIV

3 thoughts on “Uncharted Territory

  1. I heard that word New Normal when I went to the hospice grief sessions. That part wasn’t so hard after 54 years of marriage and your Father being sick I was prepared in a way for losing him to God. But what I wasn’t prepared for was making all the decisions around the house and calling everything mine instead of ours. I still call the trunk “Ken’s truck, his office. It is tough to change the way we think. Looking back on what happened with you and Scott we could tell that you were in shock for months. You became a widow far to young and your children lost their father before they really got a chance to know him and all his little quirks and likes and dislikes. Got message today, Kels. Love you.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I am so sorry for your loss and so proud of how you have allowed God to use that loss for good. It could not have been easy. What an example of turning to God and relying on him. He does have a plan even when we can’t see it.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

