Like A Good Neighbor….

neighbor-5mfw-e1475106492183

The prompt for today is neighbor.  Don’t tell me you didn’t hum the famous insurance company’s jingle when you read my title!

//Growing up in the suburbs, I have consistently lived by others.  There is a guarantee when living in a subdivision, you will have neighbors to the left, right, and across the street.  When I was little, the children in the families living around us, were my friends and playmates.  As I became an adult some of my neighbors not only lived next door, but they became great friends to hang out and make memories.

The one important factor of being a good neighbor is following the scripture of Luke 6:31, “Do to others as you would have them do to you.”  Watching one another’s home while they are on vacation, collecting their mail, or calling them to make sure they meant to leave open their garage.  I love it when neighbors come together to break bread or borrow a cup of sugar for a needed recipe.  If one of my neighbors asks me for a favor, I will be there.  My neighbors, friends, were there for me the night Scott died.  They took my children so I could go to the hospital.  I don’t remember what time I came back in the night, but my friends had comforted, calmed, and consoled my children.  They fed my family for weeks, mowed my yard, re-built my fence, and checked on me daily.  They prayed over us and offered free babysitting when it was needed.

Being a good neighbor is all about community.  We are social creatures and need to have support, comfort, and laughter in our lives.  Why not establish and invest in the relationships which are right around us? I am so thankful for the neighbors in my life.//

“The entire law is summed up in a single command: ‘Love your neighbor as yourself.’”-Galatians 5:14 NIV

Leave a Reply

