Who I Am

 

off-5mfw-e1475106146171

The prompt for today is “off”.  I have discovered if I try not to be who I was made to be, I feel off and discombobulated.  I am learning to embrace the real me and it is freeing!

My typical to do list looks something like this:

Milk

Pick up medicine

Check-in to Southwest

A Man Called Ove (for book club)

Dentist appointment @ 3PM

I admit it, I am a planner.  My family makes fun of me, but if I don’t make lists to organize my thoughts, delegate job responsibilities, and plan menus for holiday gatherings, I am at a loss.  To be specific, I am off my game.  I wish I could be spontaneous and jump in the car with my sunglasses and a smile and not know where I am going or what I am doing.  Sigh, it is not who I am.

I am in the zone if I have my to-do-list and arrive early for my appointments.  I have the ultimate purse stocked with any items which could be potentially needed.  In my “bag of tricks,” you can find a band-aid, ponytail holder, gum, snack, coupons, fingernail file, or the basic montage of medicines. If I am going to a nice dinner and need to carry a daintier bag, it takes me a while to figure out what I can leave behind, even if it is for only a few hours.

When I go to a sporting event, I carry an additional bag full of suntan lotion, reading material (between games or halftime), extra water, and bug spray.  I also make sure the teams have drinks and snacks so they can be on their A-game during competition.

Sometimes I grumble how my family turns to me to plan everything.  I sometimes wish someone else will pick up the slack, but alas, it is who I am.  I can’t turn off how God made me.  Blessings!

“I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made; Your works are wonderful, I know that full well.”-Psalms 139:14 NIV

 

3 thoughts on “Who I Am

  1. Gee, I wonder where you got that from???? My calendar is a mess, I switch bags depending on where I am going, Just made a list for the boys when they come down. When I walk out the door I have my list for errands in town in the order of drive time and turns to make, etc. God just made us special and dependable, I guess. I also have plans B and C for back up if something goes wrong with plan A. Love the fact that you being #1 daughter is the most like me. #1 son is the most like his father. Love ya #1

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

