Peacefully Disagree

confront-5mfw-e1475106598853

The prompt for today is “confront”.  It has taken many years to figure out the difference between confrontation and peaceful disagreement.

//In my younger years, I liked to boast my opinions and challenge those who did not think similar to me.  At work, I would challenge co-worker’s ideas and suggestions and list the many reasons why they would fail.  I would anticipate objections and have my rebuttals ready and able.

I had developed a reputation of not being flexible or a team player.  I enjoyed and thrived on confrontation.  I was and still am an extremely competitive person.  I learned some hard lessons in my early adulthood.

I have learned it is not about pushing my agenda, being right, or winning the argument.  I believe God has humbled me in certain situations and the discipline has made a lasting impression. He is in charge, not me.

Some of my inner circle may not agree, but I feel I have grown and mellowed.  I think in my current stage of life, I am looked upon more for wisdom, decision-making, and leadership.  I try to handle these particular requirements with grace and empathy and hope my family and friends see this in earnest.  My intent is to coach and not dominate others’ thoughts and opinions.

Confronting others is not necessarily a bad thing, but it is the way in which I approach it. I pray God directs me and guides me so I can be a blessing to others.//

“Be completely humble and gentle; be patient, bearing with one another in love.”-Ephesians 4:2-NIV

Leave a Reply

