Budget Foodie

EAT-5MFW-e1475106446788.png

Today’s prompt is “eat.” My mouth is watering right now as I imagine some smoked brisket, hearty gumbo, or a ginormous pizza.  But I digress and instead will share my thoughts around food and family.

//Food.  God did it perfect when He blessed us with this delicacy.  I could be referred to as a “foodie” because  I love to try new recipes, restaurants, and flavors.  But I am definitely a “foodie” on a budget.  So we cook A LOT.

I love fresh ingredients and watching the cooking channels to learn new concepts, mixtures of flavors, and of course, PRESENTATION!  Who does not like a pretty plate of food?

When I sit down to a meal, I love to take a big bite and savor the taste.  Another big part of eating for our family is sitting down together.  Most of the enjoyment of a good meal is the company.  Presently it is three of us for dinner, and it is a great way to take a break from the hectic world (even if it is only thirty minutes) to say grace, enjoy the food, and connect with one another.

Eating together is not only nourishment for the body but it is also nourishment for the soul.  We will talk about current events, our busy agendas, and funny experiences which happened to us when we are not together.  I remember growing up and mom generally had dinner ready on the table when dad came home and we sat down as a family to eat and talk.   It was a way to re-connect with each other, especially as we grew up and were involved in more outside activities.

It is such a simple gesture  but I believe family style eating is a way to build relationships and traditions to be passed on to the next generation.  It warms my heart to eat a big bowl of gumbo and re-connect with the ones I love.

“Every day they continued to meet together in the temple courts.  They broke bread in their homes and ate together with glad and sincere hearts, praising God and enjoying the favor of all the people.”-Acts 2:46-47

3 thoughts on “Budget Foodie

  1. Can’t wait for our big family tradition of Thanksgiving at the ranch. It is a hectic 4 days but worth it, now that we have 4 families bringing their favorite foods and cooking together it is making memories every year. Dad would be so happy that we decided to keep this tradition going.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

