The Firsts

date-5mfw-1-e1475106116688

The prompt for today is “date”.  The picture depicts a date between two people, but I wrote this before the picture was available.  As you read, I wrote about “date” differently.  Blessings!

//I remember dreading the “firsts” after my husband died.  In the initial year, as a significant date approached, I felt the ache in my heart, the uneasiness in my stomach, and a thousand thoughts flying around in my head.  I would take deep breaths and clear my mind because I was so fearful of the unknown.   The first date was his birthday, then our anniversary, kid’s birthdays, and then the holidays.

The good news is I survived.  But the anguish up to a particular date was the worst.  It was not the actual day, but the anticipation of the date.  I believe it is all a process and is something which has to be experienced by the individual during their grief journey.  When my pain became so unbearable, I would press into God for comfort and strength.

All of my “firsts” were stepping stones to equip me with patience, empathy, tolerance, and spiritual strength allowing me to support others in their grief journeys.  My losses ride along with me like baggage and move through this life as part of my journey.

I thank God for putting all the right people in my path the first couple of years  to support my kids and me as we experienced our “first” dates.  I like to share my story so others who have suffered a loss can turn to God and find hope and strength in His love.//

“But those who hope in the Lord will renew their strength.  They will soar on wings like eagles; they will run and not grow weary, they will walk and not be faint.”-Isaiah 40:31

One thought on “The Firsts

Leave a Reply

