IN-JOY

in-joy

“Sing to the Lord, you saints of His; praise His holy name.  For his anger lasts only a moment, but his favor lasts a lifetime; weeping may remain for a night, but rejoicing comes in the morning.” Psalm 30:4-5

I know it has been a few weeks since I posted.  I have been trying to write about something I THOUGHT was on point and necessary.  Every time I sat down to write, nothing.  So I prayed and tried to understand what I was experiencing.  Was it writer’s block or something far worse, like no more writing?   Was this it for my writing journey?

No, it was a little more complicated than the above reasons and it took me a couple of weeks to figure it out.  During this time of attempted blogging, I heard a whisper in my ear and the Holy Spirit would say, “joy”.   I was stumped.  Joy?  It is such a small simple word with huge implications.  So I decided to do a little research.

According to dictionary.com, the definition of joy is “a state of happiness or felicity.”  As I scrolled down reviewing the origin of the word, the synonyms and the antonyms something caught my eye.  One of the words to describe the opposite of joy was grief.  Well, here is a word I was familiar with and the complete opposite of what I thought I was to pursue.  When I ponder what I have gone through, the light bulb goes off and I see what I have experienced with the two ends of the emotional spectrum.

In grief, I felt profound sadness.  My body, heart, and soul hurt with such deep pain I was not sure if I could ever recover.  But I did.  I can still feel the same intense ache occasionally, but it does not last long and I know it will cease.  In joy, I have experienced a state of happiness and it starts with a decision to pursue it.  I want to find bliss in my daily routine and breathe it in to fill the recesses in my soul with warmth and love.

In grief, I know my face displayed the raw emotions which churned inside me.  It was difficult to hide the sorrow and I know it made some people uncomfortable in not knowing what to do or say.  In joy, I feel my face radiate the glow from within me.  My smile can make someone else smile and in turn, makes me feel delighted.  I love the way happiness beams from me and I want to be a light for others in grief.

In grief, I have felt lonely and isolated and think there is no way anyone else has ever struggled with this reality.  I learned yes, this is what others feel and I was not alone.  In joy, I wanted to surround myself with my family and friends and embrace the jubilance of building relationships and memories.  When you are full of happiness you have to share with others and receive the blessings which are returned.

In going through this study of my grief and joy I realized I was not the only one involved.  God was with me every step of the way.  He comforted me in my sorrow and celebrated in my joy.  He has helped me see what my priorities are as I continue in this journey and understand my role.  My trials have been fiery and have resulted in me being refined and renewed.  I realize this is life and how it is intertwined with happiness and sorrow.  I know I am not alone in this reality and I challenge you to look at your life and find the blessings in both the grief and the joy.

9 thoughts on “IN-JOY

  1. Very impactful for me. It brought me to a lunch I had this weekend with a friend we affectionately call Double-J. Lots of Joy…and some grief. We laughed and we cried, but I left the table in “a state of happiness and felicity”, and it still permeates through me this morning. Thank you!
    All my Love, Randy

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Glad you are back writing, I have enjoyed reading your journey through life. As you get older and start loosing more of your friends and family, that searching for joy can sometimes be a challenge. I have felt that this winter. That saying that God puts only what you can handle before you makes you want to tell him “enough already, my plate is full”. But when you finally find a little joy at the end of that long dark tunnel, you realize that maybe God knew what he was doing and just stirring you pot of comfort was enough to wake you up and look a little beyond your comfort zone and seek a little more joy.
    Keep writing my wonderful, talented daughter. You do bring joy to others.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. So great to read this new post by you! Love this, really had me thinking about how too often I’m lacking in joy, and why?? We have all we need in Christ to have joy daily…so I’m examining my own heart to try and figure out what’s stealing my joy. Love you, sweet sista, hope to see many more words from you soon!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

