Spreading My Wings

https-amensistablog.wordpress.com

“Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation; the old has gone, the new has come!”-2 Corinthians 5:17-The Holy Bible, New International Version**

My husband and I raise butterflies.  Well, it may be a stretch, but we provide an environment for butterfly births.  Our dear friend taught us if we plant dill, parsley, or fennel, these types of plants will attract the Black Swallowtail butterfly (Papilio polyxenes*) and females will lay their eggs.  The eggs incubate anywhere from four to nine days* and then the little green caterpillars hatch and start munching away on the plant.  I have not seen such tiny little creatures strip a plant so quickly and become large, plump, stuffed worms!  They tend to eat and grow from ten to thirty days*.  Once we have observed a bare plant, the caterpillars start slowing down and go into a “hooked”* position.  We will cut the stalks which they are clinging to and put them in a fish tank with pieces of wood and a lid.  We protect them from predators and give them options to move from the stalks to the wood for the final chrysalis stage which lasts around eighteen days*.

Eighteen days later, every morning we go out and see how many butterflies have emerged.  We try to get them out of the fish tank quickly so they can dry their wings in the sun.   Once they are dried and confident, they take off.  We love to release the Black Swallowtails into the air and imagine what direction is their destiny.  I have found comfort in watching butterflies while they glide about the plants and trees and exhibit their innocence and beauty.

My Christian walk has been like the metamorphosis of the tiny, hungry caterpillar to the birth of the beautiful and graceful butterfly.  Early on in my walk with Jesus, I was hungry for knowledge and truth.  I advanced in reading the bible and became bigger and bolder in my faith and it was evident to those in my circle.  Then the sudden loss of my husband was the transition into my cocoon phase where I had to rest in God and be restored and renewed.  Slowly, I came out of the chrysalis of grief and emerged as a beautiful and confident child of God.  This is the time where I have searched and understood my purpose and progressed in my growth as part of God’s plan.  I continue to move and glide through the garden of life and show my colors and share my testimony with others.  Constantly on the move:  from flower to flower, person to person.

Please don’t misunderstand me, I am not the scholarly Christian who can name scriptures and quote passages at the drop of a hat.  Those are not my strengths, but I work towards mastering this skill so I can confidently share with others someday.  My strength is my faith as I have lived it and want to share with people who are seeking their purpose.   Like a butterfly, I pray my colors will attract others who will want to get to know me, hear my testimony, and start flying around the garden of life to share their experience with others.

tweet-graphic-4

*https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Papilio_polyxenes

** The Holy Bible, New International Version Copyright 1973, 1978, 1984 by International Bible Society

4 thoughts on “Spreading My Wings

Leave a Reply

