disTRACTION

DISTRACTION

I am working in my office and becoming increasingly frustrated at the fact my “to do list” is not getting done. The annoyance in my demeanor is coming through quite clear in my voice, e-mails, and the grunts and groans for all to hear in the office.  This is not one of my awe-inspiring moments and I feel the situation spiraling out of control.

I want to be calm, cool, and collected under pressure, but sadly this is not generally the case.  In these moments, I am drowning in the distractions and unable to focus and control my thoughts and time.  This is where I have to step back, take a breath, center my thoughts, and gain some traction.  Here are a few tricks I use to regroup and move ahead.

Breathe-taking a few moments to quiet my mind and take deep breaths to clear my lungs.  Sometimes there is a conversation with God about the circumstances in the moment where I can lay it down at His feet.  When I take a “breathe break” it reminds me of Psalm 46:10, “Be still, and know that I am God; I will be exalted among the nations, I will be exalted in the earth.”* To be still, allows me to renew and recharge and face the real world.

Sign Out-Isn’t technology the bomb Diggity?  It can also take multi-tasking to a whole other level.  In order to focus and complete my tasks, I will make sure my e-mail is closed down, and no other social media options are open on my computer.  Additional options are to shut my door and send my phone to voice mail to avoid any interruptions.

Focus-Frequently I will have to dig deep and use all my energy to stay sharp and on task.  Using time management, I will set time limits for certain tasks in order to hunker down and accomplish my goals.  For example, I have a project to complete in three days so I will break down what is needed to finish the project and assign time limits for all the parts in order to meet the deadline.

Count-I’m reminded to be grateful for all my blessings.  What I realize is I am experiencing first world problems and should be thankful for my life, job, family, and give the glory to God.  This is the point where I gain traction and realize what the true priorities in life.  I can release the frustration of “in the moment” trivial issues and embrace the joy of my journey knowing I am blessed.  “From the fullness of His grace we have all received one blessing after another.”*-John 1:16  tweet-graphic-4

If I take the time to go through these steps when I feel the pressure of an unmanageable situation mounting, I can take back the control and gain traction.  In addition, going through this process enables me to adjust my perspective and embrace the challenges placed before me.  After all, how else will I learn to grow in my purpose?

*The Holy Bible, New International Version Copyright 1973, 1978, 1984 by International Bible Society

SL_button

4 thoughts on “disTRACTION

  1. Hi Kelsey! Amen Sista! lol ( i love that) – these are great tips– Lately, when I’m trying to write, I will turn off my wifi on my computer so that I don’t get notifications. I get distracted so very easily!!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

