The Promise of Tomorrow

https-amensistablog.wordpress.com

Today, we are celebrating the graduation of the Mandeville High School seniors class of 2017.  Tonight after graduation, is the traditional Project Graduation party which I will be attending ALL night long!  It is a great way to honor their accomplishments and keep them protected.  I thought I would share the blog I wrote last year when my nephew graduated.  Join me today in lifting up this generation in prayer for a safe, successful, and blessed graduation.  So exciting to see what the future holds!

“For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.”-Jeremiah 29:11*

We were seated in the auditorium when the crowd burst into cheers and applause and my skin tingled with the excitement.  The 2016 high school seniors had officially graduated.  My nephew was one of this acclaimed group.  I sat there with a big smile on my face and tears in my eyes.  We were a hodge-podge group of family and friends who overcame all obstacles to be there in support of his big day.  We wanted him to feel the love because there was one person who could not be at his one and only high school graduation.  The void which we all were feeling was his mom and my sister in law, who had passed away seven years ago.  Oh, how she would have been the loudest and proudest one in our group! This day was bittersweet for all of us and a reminder even in grief, there are joyful moments.

As I looked into my nephew’s eyes, I saw a world of possibility opening its doors to him.  What a euphoric rush to think about his future:  pursuing a career, falling in love, and raising his own family.  As I reflect on the promise of tomorrow, I am reminded of God’s intentions for us daily.

PROVISION-God knows His plans for you and He will provide.  All you have to do is seek Him in everything.  It is not ever too late to build your relationship with God and understand your purpose.  In my daily prayers, I share with Him I want to honor and glorify Him in all actions.  I also ask God to PROVIDE me with tools necessary to complete His works.    “And my God will meet all your needs according to His glorious riches in Christ Jesus”. – Philippians 4:19*

PURPOSE-What are your goals?  Each one of us is made uniquely and God has an intended purpose for you.  I have reveled in the process of finding my purpose and look forward to how the journey will play out.  I know it is right because God orchestrates every detail and the pieces start falling into place like a puzzle.   I ask for my marching orders every day in my prayers and I know it is one more step in fulfilling my purpose; in His time.  “And we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love Him, who have been called according to His purpose”. – Romans 8:28*

PRESERVATION-Because I choose to walk with God, I know He will protect me.  There will be physical attacks and events on my body, (accidents, illnesses, injuries, aging) but He will ultimately guard my soul and deliver me to spend eternity with Him.   When I meet with Him daily in His word, I am assured of this promise to live with Him in His house forever.  “As for God, his way is perfect; the word of the Lord is flawless.  He is a shield for all who take refuge in him.”- Psalm 18:30*

In retrospect of my life over the last fifteen years, I am in awe where God has taught, inspired, and led me on this journey.  If I can get excited about the future in my fifty-something life, I pray for my nephew and all the 2016 graduates who are giddy about their future plans.  His generation will be the one to move our society forward, for better or worse, and I am optimistic God’s promise will shine through it all.

*The Holy Bible, New International Version Copyright 1973, 1978, 1984 by International Bible Society

One thought on “The Promise of Tomorrow

Leave a Reply

