Another First!

A BOOK REVIEW

“Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest.”-Matthew 11:28*

I know it has been a while since I have done a blog, but you know what?  It is okay.  I decided to take a break this summer and spend a little time on me.  I enjoyed my family, was a little lazy, and participate in a few other writing activities.  I joined a book launch team for Chrystal Evans Hurst to read and promote her new book; She’s Still There.  This was my first time to be part of a book launch and let me share this little secret, it was awesome!   First, the book is a great read and I will share my review at the end.  Second, being part of a group of women who rallied around a sista to help her promote what God has done in her life is inspiring.  Getting to know Chrystal through this process has renewed the search for my purpose and learning to embrace and graciously accept what talents God has given me.  I highly recommend this book for anyone who wants to reconnect with the girl in you and love ALL OF yourself, the way God intended.  Chrystal’s book will also be offered as a fall bible study with Proverbs 31 Ministries.  Check out Chrystal at her website chrystalevanshurst.com.  Blessings!

She’s Still There

Rescuing the Girl in You by Chrystal Evans Hurst

Zondervan
Christian

Pub Date 08 Aug 2017

What is my purpose?  I have struggled with this idea for years wondering what are my God given talents and what does He want me to do for His kingdom?  And then I had the opportunity to join a book launch team for Chrystal Evans Hurst.  BAM.  She’s Still There-Rescuing the Girl in You is an honest and transparent approach to digging deep, finding your purpose, and loving the journey.  Chrystal uses her own experiences, both painful and rewarding, to help the reader realize this life is always moving forward and what we can do to stay focused and on track.

The book is divided into six parts and easy to read chapters which assist the reader in spending the necessary time on her.  A woman can explore the ideas of what makes her unique and identify her special gifts, abilities, interests, and her nature.  At the end of each chapter is a reflections page which allows the reader to remember, reflect, and respond to the heart of the chapter.  In addition, there is a list of scriptures which support the idea of the particular section.  Being a detail oriented person, I noticed the scriptures were listed in no particular order, which I would have preferred for easy thumbing through the bible.  Well, I heard the back story as to why the scriptures were listed in no particular order (Chrystal had her own scriptures she wanted to use and asked others for their suggestions) hence; they were listed in no particular order.  As a bonus, skipping around my bible and looking up the scriptures has assisted me in sharpening my scripture search skills without using my table of contents!

This book opened up my mind and heart to invest quality time in me and to understand and explore my God given talents.  Chrystal’s approach to tackling one of the great mysteries, purpose, is both refreshing and real.  So many times we feel alone in our pain and She’s Still There is a comfortable reminder this is not the case.  Learning to live in and through the pains of life is what makes us stronger and more passionate as women.  I feel more empowered knowing my girl is still worth the work and the rescue.   A must read for anyone willing to do the hard work and reap the rewards.

*The Holy Bible, New International Version Copyright 1973, 1978, 1984 by International Bible Society

5 thoughts on “Another First!

  1. This looks like a great book. I like how you pointed out that searching in Scripture makes you more efficient in finding the verses without having to use your index. This is a really good practice. I also enjoyed how encouraging you are to other Sista’s. Thanks for sharing.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

